T.V. or not T.V. that is the question!

I am sorry! Maybe I am just missing it. Perhaps in my early youth (which implies I still am in my youth…just a bit older) I didn’t care. Perhaps I didn’t think it didn’t matter. Maybe I didn’t want it to matter. Maybe I wasn’t spiritual enough, perhaps I wasn’t strong enough or maybe…just maybe there were a too few many thorns in my soil. (see previous post)

However, I seriously have to ask you if any Christian should be watching T.V.!! Now wait! Before you click back, home, or however you leave a blog, I am NOT talking about the T.V. shows. Well, not in this post so much even though I could.

Kids watching commercialNo, I am not referring to the Television shows that are easy to turn off if the material is too risqué, mature, or down right crude.Everyone should be familiar with the on/off switch and use it accordingly. What I am referring to is the commercials.

 There you are enjoying a good show with clean humor, no language to make you cringe and then Bam! Here comes some Pizza commercial full of innuendo with the NFL cheerleaders in the guy’s fantasy or some NFL player in the lady’s version. I tell you a truth, I lie not: It used to be that if God had not created women there would be little selling of anything! Now the women are getting into the act by objectifying men too. I guess it would be doubly true then: If God had not created man or woman, there would be NO selling. But then, I suppose,  I wouldn’t have anyone to read my blog.

Who needs sex, sex appeal, scantily dressed women to sell Orange Juice, Pizza, Butter or a myriad of other products? Apparently it is needed. I seriously doubt that Madison avenue is putting this stuff out there because the majority of the world doesn’t like it!  They are in the business of making money and if they alienate their audience, sales do not improve.  I don’t recall all of the language my Communication Studies professors would have used to describe this but I do know that media is out to sell a product and they KNOW how to do it. And yet…there is a more important question to ask:

As a Christian can I allow myself and my family to be subjected to the world’s standards so often that it starts to make no difference to them or  the next generation?  In 1939 the Best picture was Gone with the Wind. In this movie, there was one profane word. Just one! By today’s standards not even a particularly offensive one. However, a couple of generations later, well…I don’t really have to finish that thought with examples, now do I? What is next for T.V. in the upcoming years? I shudder to ask or think about it.

If it were a T.V. show that offended, I could avoid watching it. However, if the price to pay for watching shows that I do want to watch is the advertisements advertising the shows that I don’t want to watch, (which often remind me of why I do not want to watch them), then one has to ask: Is the price too high?

David said: I will set nothing wicked before my eyes (Psalm 101:3). Funny that we call it a T.V. set!

Job said: “I have made a covenant with my eyes, Why then should I look upon a young woman” (Job 31:1)

Jesus said “If you look upon a woman to lust after her, you have committed adultery in your heart” (Matt 5:28)

Sure, this may come off as judgemental and about now, you might expect a call for a boycott! However, I simply want to raise the question. Because there is not a man or woman alive over the age of 18 who has not had a struggle with this to some degree or another. Not just on T.V. but in real life. So why add to struggle by adding to the exposure.   We need to take an honest, prayerful look at all of our activities, even the passive ones, and ask if people see Jesus in us.

About Steven Sarff

If I were to offer any one piece of advice to one wishing to serve God, it would be to put Hebrews 11:6 and Acts 17:11 into action and let God guide you to grow in the grace and knowledge of His Son Jesus Christ.

Posted on November 15, 2011, in Christianity, Faith, Television and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

