The sinner’s pray

Ok, Boys and girls, bible students and those who enjoy studying the word of God, I am going to take a position here: We should be able to find in the Scriptures the message that we teach to sinners. In other words, WE cannot just make up the Gospel, nor the response of the one who wishes to obtain the Gospel’s blessings.

So, please tell me, anyone, where in the Bible we are able to read “The Sinner’s Prayer”? Where do these words come from? Yes, I know that there is no specific exact prayer, everyone teaches it differently but in one form or another there are those who teach that if a person wants the blessings of salvation that some prayer along these lines is all you need to do (implied in the ‘wants the blessings’ is faith)

Dear God: I am a sinner. I repent of my sins and ask Jesus to come and dwell with me and to enter my life and to be King in my life. Thank you for your gift of salvation.

most are a little longer than that and if you listen to some TV preachers they do add a few more words, tracts do too. They will say “if you just prayed that prayer, congratulations!”

Now I am all about not laying on the disciples (would be or actual) a yoke that cannot be born (Acts 15:10) but do we have the authority to give people this prayer to pray?

I am asking the question to have anyone explain why they think it is justified to give someone the sinner’s prayer to pray so that they can be saved. I will not pretend to think that it is correct. I mention this because I am not trying to be disingenious, what I want to know is the reasons for the prayer.   Since I do not think it is correct, and I have not studied this question,  it is hard for me to walk in the other man’s shoes; I cannot elaborate that arguement.  The question is not for those who do not agree, but for those who do agree with the sinner’s prayer. Teach me.

So I encouage any to post a response here and explain, if you practice the sinner’s prayer, accept the sinner’s prayer, or think it is ok….

Why?

About Steven Sarff

If I were to offer any one piece of advice to one wishing to serve God, it would be to put Hebrews 11:6 and Acts 17:11 into action and let God guide you to grow in the grace and knowledge of His Son Jesus Christ.

Posted on January 25, 2012, in Christianity, Faith and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

