Removing wickedness from your sight

Psa 101:1-4 A Psalm of David. I will sing of mercy and justice; To You, O LORD, I will sing praises. (2) I will behave wisely in a perfect way. Oh, when will You come to me? I will walk within my house with a perfect heart. (3) I will set nothing wicked before my eyes; I hate the work of those who fall away; It shall not cling to me. (4) A perverse heart shall depart from me; I will not know wickedness.

Oh, if it were only true that I did not know wickedness.  I think that this is a lament that most of us (most=99.44%) can make.  I don’t know when David wrote this Psalm, at what point in life, but I know that he didn’t live up to it when you take his whole life into consideration. Yet, he was a man of God, not because of his imperfections, but because he repented and turned from wickedness when he did sin.

One thing that is for sure, if you look at these verses of the psalm you may come away with the idea that in seeking God, it is necessary to turn from evil. When Israel met the Lord on Mt. Sinai, they spent 3 days in preparation and purifying themselves. What kind of evil David has in his mind is not specified and it may just be wickedness in general, Gossip and pride are mentioned later on, but this phrasing makes an interesting lesson too easy to pass up.

I will set nothing wicked before my eyes. As in, perhaps, just to pull something out at random…mmmm, uh…Television?

I just finished watching a commercial for a new movie coming out, or I think it just did come out. “This means War”. (I say finish watching because I didn’t have the remote in hand to turn the channel) You know, I feel too old sometimes when I begin to question whether I am just becoming too strict on things like this, or if it simply is the Devil trying to goad me back to a time where I didn’t really care so much. (Which is not to say that I shouldn’t have cared but I was young and well “It won’t affect me” seems to be a common statement even today. Ah, youth….I believed (past tense) that statement too! )

Now I notice things that shouldn’t be there to be noticed in the first place. This movie has sexual tension and themes written all over it and just from the commercials; it is going to appeal to the baser desires. The question you need to ask yourself is what is it that you will be subjecting yourself to?  Is it good? Is it edifying?

Now for anyone under 30 who reads this, I will give you a disclaimer here. If this movie had come out, when I was in your age range or younger even, sure, I would want to see it. I would have gone to see it. However, I do not offer myself as a standard, I wouldn’t go if I had developed the sense of understanding that I have now. Still, if you are going to use a standard of any kind, ask yourself if Jesus would go to that movie? Read the reviews and then ask yourself, if you walked in on  your friend with their boyfriend/girlfriend doing the same things in that movie (in real life—not fiction) would you pull up a chair and pop some popcorn? (ugh. Just asking that question makes it seem not clean!)

I know I mentioned Television and wandered off into movie land but even on TV, the question needs to be asked. My opinion is that the commercials are worse than the shows. You have to watch with a remote in your hand. Maybe it is time to put the remote down, after you turn the TV off.

About Steven Sarff

If I were to offer any one piece of advice to one wishing to serve God, it would be to put Hebrews 11:6 and Acts 17:11 into action and let God guide you to grow in the grace and knowledge of His Son Jesus Christ.

Posted on February 10, 2012, in Faith, Television and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

