A Christian’s perspective on the Health bill

I have no doubt that many many articles, posts, blogs and such have been, and will be, written about the Supreme Court’s decision to uphold the Health bill. I am not one of those however. It isn’t that I do not care about the decision. Actually, I was quite astonished by the decision. I was not happy with the decision. Yet, I know that on the other side of the fence there are those who may also be astonished and yet very happy with the decision.

However, after I got over the surprise, I moved on with what I was doing at the time. That I moved on so quickly surprised me, I am, by nature, driven to fight to right wrongs. Maybe I figured it was too big a wrong, or too hard to fight but after a little while, I began to realize that it doesn’t matter. I am not saying that is not without consequence, I am simply saying that in the bigger picture, it does not really matter.

It will affect me, to be sure, at some point in my life. Perhaps the effect will be in higher health premiums, perhaps it will be in poorer health coverage. I mean, it seems logical that the “Right” is correct  that costs will go up. On the other hand, the “Left” says that everyone can be covered this way and costs will go down; perhaps they are correct. Maybe health care will thrive like this and people will live longer and more diseases and ailments will be cured.  It is probable that the only truth is that both cannot be correct.

However, as I said, it doesn’t really matter. The reason is simple. Even if the health care in the country deteriorates to such a level that I die 10 years earlier, or if it improves so that I live 100 years longer in good health, the fact of the matter is…I am going to die.

I am finally convinced that the most and best that Christians can do in this world, while in this world, in relationship to the political environment is to heed the advice of Paul:

First of all, then, I urge that supplications, prayers, intercessions, and thanksgivings be made for all people, for kings and all who are in high positions, that we may lead a peaceful and quiet life, godly and dignified in every way. This is good, and it is pleasing in the sight of God our Savior, who desires all people to be saved and to come to the knowledge of the truth.  (1Ti 2:1-4)

What Paul urged was not demonstrations, protests, and hours endlessly glued to Fox News or MSNBC while grumbling about the opposite political party and how dumb or corrupt they are. Paul said PRAY  for them. Thank God for them and pray that we (as Christians) can live a life that is peaceful, quiet, godly, and dignified.

Especially in America, we have such a great freedom. I am not saying “do not vote.”  Actually, I think that right given to us needs to be exercised. Far too few people do it anyway. However, what I am saying is that prayer is a much more effective tool to be used to make sure that this country, or any country, will go the way that it should. Yet, in all these types of prayers, there is a need to say “Thy will be done”

If you noticed in the above passage, Paul alludes to the saving of souls. Why do we pray for our leaders? So that souls can be saved.

Translation: Turn off the T.V., spend time in prayer, and then go out into the world and be a light shining in the darkness. Souls are being lost because they believe Satan’s lies. Whether Democrat, Republican, liberal or conservative, a  Christian will focus his/her time, money, and efforts on supporting the effort to bring souls to Christ.

As I said, the health bill does not matter, but serving Jesus is something that does.

Question: What else do we spend time doing that, from an eternal perspective, does not matter.

photo credit: themostimportantnews.com

About Steven Sarff

If I were to offer any one piece of advice to one wishing to serve God, it would be to put Hebrews 11:6 and Acts 17:11 into action and let God guide you to grow in the grace and knowledge of His Son Jesus Christ.

Posted on July 3, 2012, in Christianity, Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

