Putting the Scriptures into action

One of my favorite verses comes from Acts chapter 17:

These were more fair-minded than those in Thessalonica, in that they received the word with all readiness, and searched the Scriptures daily to find out whether these things were so. (Act 17:11)

It is my favorite because the spirit that the Bereans had is the same that we should have today.

First, they received the word with all readiness.

They did not simply say “we have the Scriptures already and there is nothing new to learn.” In fact, those Scriptures which they had (our Old Testament) were pointing to a coming Messiah. When Paul showed up preaching that the Messiah had come, he appealed to those Scriptures to make his point. You can see in verses 1-5 that Paul first reasoned from the Scriptures in Thesolonica and some were persuaded of the Greeks, but not so many of the Jews.

Second, the Bereans searched the Scriptures to see:

To see what? To see if what Paul was saying was true. Did the Messiah come from Bethlehem? Would he be rejected? Was Jesus the prophet Moses had promised?

When I go to a place to preach or study for the first time, it is my custom to read verse 11 and explain to the audience (or individual) that we have a responsibility to search the Scriptures to see if the things presented are, indeed, from God. What we are doing, in this case, is saying that we accept the Scriptures as God’s Holy word and as our standard to measure our teachings.

That which is not from God is rejected, that which is from God is retained. Book, chapter, and verse is what we look for.

This means that when we hear someone who wants to impart to us something from God, we can afford to be courteous and do as the Bereans did: Listen. Yet, we also search the Scriptures, as they did. And a final step in that process is to discuss the message with the messenger.

Aquilla and Pricilla did just that with Apollos. They heard him, took him aside, and shared a part of the message that he was missing. He didn’t have all of the Gospel. (Acts 18:24-28) What I write, I hope (I believe) is in line with the Scriptures but it is for my audience member to search the Scriptures and see. They then are encouraged to offer information which they think would be relevant, even if, it is the opposite of what I said, or supplies more than what I said. The goal is not which of us is right but, knowing that God is always right, to make our message in agreement with his.

Which brings up another thought and the motive for today’s blog:

I am sure you have seen on Facebook, or other social media outlets, chain posts that go something like this:

I wanted to see who reads my posts (only about 7 of you) so you need to write one word on my wall and repost this on yours so I can do the same.

Or, If you don’t re post this then you are going to have to start paying for Facebook.

Or, Like this post if you are still my friend, I will delete the rest. Blah, blah, blah!

Why can’t we offer something to others that is truly inspiring?  Why not inspire a person with something that will encourage them to live better or do better? Posts about how your life is going, what the kids did or are doing are great;  we keep up with our friends, family, and current events. That can be encouraging. But posts like the ones above do not inspire a person to greatness.

While I  hope all my posts which I pass on to Facebook and twitter are thought provoking and encouraging, it isn’t like I am the only one who shares good things. So, I am going to take my own advice and try to share a blog post or two from someone else that I think hits the mark. The point of my blogs, and those that I will share, is to present the Scriptures and let my audience search and see if they are from God. If they are: put it into action. If they are not, ignore it.

Your challenge is to do the same. You don’t have to post mine, you can post someone else’s, but share another blog, either on Facebook or your own blog post. Why? Because you will introduce people to another’s perspective, writing style, and way to explain things. It is not the one who waters or who plants but the one who gives the increase (God) that we should be trying to glorify and point people toward.

How much better an inspiring post than a chain post?  Of how much more value? How much more a better use of the readers time?

Question: Who do you read that writes good inspiring blog posts? Share the link below. (Yes, you can share your own blog link!)

Photo credit: sbarkley

 

 

About Steven Sarff

If I were to offer any one piece of advice to one wishing to serve God, it would be to put Hebrews 11:6 and Acts 17:11 into action and let God guide you to grow in the grace and knowledge of His Son Jesus Christ.

Posted on August 31, 2012, in Christianity, Faith, speech and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Here’s a place where several authors can be read at one time: http://www.fellowshiproom.org

Leave a Reply

